ARC Review + Giveaway: The Big F by Maggie Ann Martin (Xpresso Book Tours)

TheBigFTourBanner

4/5 stars

The Big F 
by Maggie Ann Martin
Published By: Swoon Reads
Publication Date: August 29th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Synopsis:

 

Danielle effed up. Big time.

Danielle’s plans for the future were pretty easy to figure out… until she failed senior English and her single college application was denied. Suddenly she’s in hot water with very few options, because honestly who applies to a safety school when their mom is a semi-famous “college psychic”?!

Determined to get her life back on track, Danielle enrolls in her hometown community college with a plan: pass her English class and get back into Ohio State and her mother’s good graces. Romance isn’t on her radar… until she reconnects with her childhood crush and golden-boy-next-door, Luke.

Between family drama, first love and finding her own way, Danielle can’t help but feel a little overwhelmed. Thankfully she has her friendship with the snarky and frustratingly attractive Porter, her coworker at the campus bookstore, to push her to experience new things and help keep her afloat.

One thing’s for sure: This time, failure’s not an option.

 

I just want to start off saying that I love this book. I’m not a huge contemporary reader, I’m trying to broaden my horizons with more contemporary books, and this one was great. The summary sounded really relatable and fun, especially because I’m a senior in high school this year. It was very entertaining and interesting to move. I read it all in a single day, I never found one part of it boring. I thought Maggie’s delivery on this book was near perfect, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The book is about a recently graduated senior, Danielle. She needs to find out what she is going to do about college after being rejected by the only school she planned for. Like me, I’m feeling the stress of applying for colleges along with acceptances and rejections. The story follows Danielle and her love interests and family dilemmas along with appearances from her best friend Zoe.

My favorite part about this book was the romance. Without spoiling anything, I was hesitant at the first indications of a love interest, but then I was totally taken aback and suddenly loving the new developing romance between Danielle and a certain special boy who is now very near and dear to my heart (I love him). Danielle is torn between two beautiful boys, the golden boy-next-door and long lost friend and old crush who radiates sunshine, and then there’s the quiet, snarky beautiful boy who takes every chance he gets to make jabs at Danielle. I was loving both of them and couldn’t pick a side. Maggie’s writing was incredible. I loved how she wrote the end game romance, it is probably one of my new favorites.

I also loved how Maggie wrote about realistic and relatable aspects of life. She talks about family and how “perfect” families have their flaws and overcome obstacles. She deals with the college application processes, and coming from a midwest town where I’ve basically had my college decided since I was born, I understand the pressure of following through with plans. Community college is always seen as a step-back for most people, but it could change the course of someone’s life for the better. The parties and drinking and sex mentioned in the book I found very relatable. It’s nice to see contemporary YA books that mention sex and virginity as a casual thing. Everywhere I read people lose their virginities to their main love interest and continue to stay with that person for the remainder of their lives (or the book/series at least), but that’s literally never the case. First times can be meaningful and serious, but it’s also not the end of the world after losing them. I just appreciated how everything was just so me, I am patiently waiting for the time within the next year that I will meet a cute boy like the one in the book.

There was slow-burn, romance, failure, big decisions, family problems, fun adventures and outings, internships, school, jobs, and everything about teenage life and college. I know it doesn’t sound like the most exciting book, but I loved it. Everything about it was real and fun and cute and hilarious. Seriously, go buy this book now.

Failure is part of life, though it may seem like the end of the world, it can alter it for the better. There’s a path for everyone, it just takes some longer to find it, but it’s worth it in the end.

 

BUY THE BIG F ON Amazon / B&N / Kobo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Maggie Ann Martin hails from Des Moines, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She has a shiny new BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet. The Big F is her debut novel.

Maggie’s links: website / goodreads / twitter / facebook

 

WANT TO WIN THIS AMAZING BOOK? (YES YOU DO)

ENTER HERE (US/CAN only)

Check out the rest of the blog tour schedule!

ALSO! If any of you happen to pick up this book and read it (I recommend you do) please comment on this post or message me on twitter!

Leave a Reply

